Joey Cape announces new solo album “Stitch Puppy”

Lagwagon frontman Joey Cape has announced he will be releasing a new solo album titled Stitch Puppy on September 4th through Fat Wreck Chords.

You can check out the record’s tracklist and learn more about the meaning of its title below.

Stitch Puppy will be Cape’s first solo album in nearly 5 years, serving as a follow-up to 2011’s Doesn’t Play Well With Others. He will be touring North America in support of the LP this fall.




Stitch Puppy tracklist:

1: Me the Witness
2: This Life IS Strange
3: Gone Baby Gone
4: Spill My Guts
5: St. Mary’s
6: Broken
7: Cope
8: Faultlines
9: Moral Compass
10: Tracks

Joey Cape, on the meaning of the album’s title:

Stitch Puppy was inspired by a doll my daughter made me a few years back. It’s a sort of Victorian mourning doll. Stitch is my most prized possession. Put it this way, if my house were to burn down, after my family and the animals, Stitch would be top priority. My idea to wear his costume stems from years of thinking of him as some representation of purity, loss and the strength that follows. Stitch Puppy seems to be alone, which is the way it feels to mourn the loss someone you love or to be abandoned, stood up. We are all disappointed by life’s disloyalties and losses but somehow the wiser for them. We transform from victim to guide. We are witness to these things and the beauty in between. That’s it. That’s how I see Stitch Puppy. Not defeated. Simply the wise witness I aim to be.


Add Joey Cape to My Radar   Add to My Radar

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.