Band Profile

Broadway Calls

Broadway Calls
Hometown: Rainer, Oregon Current Label: No Sleep Records Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Band Members: Ty Vaughn
Matt Koenig
Josh Baird

Broadway Calls Bio:

The recipe for making a good pop punk record seems fairly easy: add one part catchy melody, one part snotty attitude, a dash of breakneck drumming and a sprinkle of buzz saw guitars, mix and let sit for five minutes. Press play and you've got your official summer soundtrack to empty-highway road trips at 90mph.

A great pop punk album... now that's another story. Catchy melodies and a bratty demeanor simply aren’t enough. You need to dig deep and unearth yourself some honest-to-god, turbo-charged anthems; the kind that sound just as sweet and irresistible with the car windows rolled down as they do at a sweaty house show with a broken P.A. and 40 insanely drunk punk rockers screaming in your ear. And you better make sure that the songs are about something other than your high school crush: relevant social issues, political discourse, lasting friendship and a general distaste for those too apathetic to care about any of it are an absolute must.

More importantly, you gotta have guts and be willing to shed your blood, sweat and tears. That's what makes each vibrant guitar chord ring out so profoundly. It's what causes our heart to beat in time with the pulsing rhythm section. And it's why we find it impossible not to sing along at the top of our lungs until our throats are shredded and raw.

Of course, if it all sounds a bit too unobtainable, then sit back and give Broadway Call's self-titled debut a spin. Revel in the fact that even though you'll never create a pop punk masterpiece... at least you'll be able to listen to one whenever you'd like and wonder how the hell they did it.

Truthfully, we'll probably never know how Broadway Calls managed to cram all those infectious hooks and unforgettable choruses into fourteen remarkable songs. Every track is a certifiable hit, and even more impressive is the lasting power of the album. It remains as intense, bright and memorable on the hundredth spin as it did on the first. And that, my friends, is how you make a great pop punk record.

Broadway Calls is Josh Baird (drums), Ty Vaughn (vocals, guitar), Matt Koenig (bass, vocals) and Chris Spencer (guitars). Robert Baird played guitar on the record. The band's self-titled debut was recorded at NU-Tone Studios (Green Day, Samiam, Dillinger Four) in Pittsburg, C.A. and produced by Willie Samuels. The band also released an EP titled Call The Medic... in 2006.


  1. Broadway Calls debut new song “Open Letter” off split with Mixtapes9/19/2012 10:44 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  2. Broadway Calls announce new album “Comfort/Distraction,” stream new song11/27/2012 10:44 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  3. Red City Radio announces co-headline tour with Broadway Calls in early 201312/4/2012 2:08 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  4. Coffee & Cigarettes Clothing Co. release Action Against Hunger benefit comp (feat. Broadway Calls, Comadre, and more)12/27/2012 9:23 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  5. Broadway Calls announce European tour dates for March 20131/10/2013 11:03 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  6. Broadway Calls perform for Nervous Energies1/10/2013 12:47 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  7. Broadway Calls premiere new track “Wildly Swinging”1/15/2013 9:17 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  8. Broadway Calls announce west coast tour with My Iron Lung1/22/2013 6:48 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  9. Broadway Calls streams new track “Zombie World”1/28/2013 4:09 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  10. Broadway Calls stream new album “Comfort/Distraction”2/1/2013 10:53 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  11. Video: Broadway Calls Full Set at The Slidebar2/1/2013 2:34 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  12. Interview: Broadway Calls talks about new album with lineup, new tour, and more2/5/2013 2:20 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  13. Broadway Callls announce US/Canada tour dates2/11/2013 9:36 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  14. Free Benefit Compilation (Broadway Calls, Captain We’re Sinking, A Wilhelm Scream, etc.)8/9/2013 1:17 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  15. Free album download: Broadway Calls- “Comfort/Distraction”10/14/2013 12:33 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  16. Live Video: Broadway Calls @ Bottom of the Hill in San Francisco (full set)2/4/2014 11:25 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  17. New video: Ty Vaughn (Broadway Calls) solo acoustic performance3/11/2014 7:39 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  18. skylerwalt7/25/2016 1:37 PM | Permalink

    Like your work..

  19. Broadway Calls do acoustic Punks In Vegas session; embark on with Success8/18/2016 10:48 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Broadway Calls […]

  20. BettySmith9/13/2016 2:07 AM | Permalink

    love this song…

  21. bradmitchell3410/8/2016 5:08 AM | Permalink


  22. hectorkim5410/22/2016 6:36 AM | Permalink


  23. andrewlee4511/10/2016 1:09 AM | Permalink

    Its great.

  24. glennwatts7512/7/2016 11:39 PM | Permalink

    Really great effort…..

  25. calvinlamb7812/9/2016 4:14 AM | Permalink

    I really like this one

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.