Band Profile


Hometown: Boston / Brooklyn, Current Label: Epitaph Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Facebook Profile
Twitter Profile
Band Members: J. Bannon: Vocals, lyrics, visuals
Kurt Ballou: Guitar, backing vocals
Nate Newton: Bass, backing vocals
Ben Koller: Drums

Converge Bio:

Converge was formed in the winter of 1990 by Jacob Bannon and Kurt Ballou. They first started by playing covers of hardcore punk, punk rock and heavy metal songs, being self-confessed "hardcore kids with leftover Slayer riffs". The band soon graduated to playing live performances in 1991, after recording some demos on a 4-track recorder and eventually releasing full lengths including When Forever Comes Crashing and splits with bands like Agoraphobic Nosebleed.

In recent years, Converge have enjoyed relatively high levels of popularity, despite the esoteric nature of their music and the lack of media attention. Their popularity began to rise with the release of their breakthrough album, Jane Doe. During the recording of Jane Doe, long time member Aaron Dalbec who was also handling his then side project Bane was asked to leave the group so Aaron can focus on Bane resulting in a four man group that's still intact today. Their records have gradually become more expensively and extensively produced, having moved from the independent label Equal Vision Records to the much larger and more mainstream (yet still independent) punk label Epitaph Records while handling special releases on Jacob's record label, Deathwish Inc. with their latest albums You Fail Me and No Heroes.

According to the band's website, they are currently writing for a new album, due out in 2009 on Epitaph (vinyl on Deathwish).


  1. Converge premier new song “Shame In The Way”; discuss upcoming album & more in interview10/3/2012 1:55 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  2. Converge stream upcoming album “All We Love We Leave Behind”10/3/2012 2:18 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  3. Interview: Kurt Ballou (Converge) discusses new album, the bands DIY ethics, and more10/19/2012 12:57 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  4. Converge involved in crazy accident (180 degree spins in a van, black ice & semi trucks)10/24/2012 2:10 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  5. Free compilation: Deathwish Inc. – “Spring 2013″3/11/2013 6:10 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  6. Converge stream “Pound For Pound: The Wolverine Blues Sessions” EP5/23/2013 6:30 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  7. Converge detail new 7-inch “Live at the BBC”12/5/2013 2:40 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  8. Converge begin work on new music2/3/2014 8:00 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  9. New Video: Converge – “Precipice / All We Love We Leave Behind”4/16/2014 4:27 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  10. Deathwish Inc release summer sampler “2014: A Summer Of Blood”7/31/2014 10:44 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  11. Converge leaks trailer for upcoming “Thousands of Miles Between Us” release/DVD11/3/2015 4:16 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  12. shawncox10
    shawncox103/23/2016 2:42 AM | Permalink

    nice song.

  13. johncook114/1/2016 4:22 AM | Permalink

    Really great song.

  14. Converge will release “You Fail Me – Redux” on June 17th4/29/2016 4:03 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  15. carlbeck106/3/2016 1:30 AM | Permalink

    very nice.

  16. marquess6/22/2016 2:16 AM | Permalink

    soo nice.

  17. carlsimon478/3/2016 3:21 AM | Permalink

    Really nice song.

  18. karlhardy558/4/2016 1:43 AM | Permalink

    i really love this one

  19. DonnaVasquez9/12/2016 1:17 AM | Permalink

    really nice….

  20. LawsonJanie9/16/2016 5:57 AM | Permalink

    Great job

  21. fredpatton9/19/2016 2:15 AM | Permalink

    I love this.

  22. ZaraPickering11/7/2016 5:29 AM | Permalink

    I like this song

  23. Melissaweyand11/10/2016 1:32 AM | Permalink

    Great story

  24. rosscurtis4411/17/2016 1:44 AM | Permalink

    Its amazing.

  25. nealwells3511/28/2016 11:58 PM | Permalink

    I like your effort

  26. glennwatts7512/7/2016 11:45 PM | Permalink

    Awesome keep it up .. great work

  27. Converge detail “Jane Live”1/16/2017 2:20 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  28. garrykelley843/16/2017 7:20 AM | Permalink

    I love it

  29. Converge announce summer tour dates with Neurosis4/9/2017 4:01 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

  30. Converge to begin work on new album4/11/2017 11:10 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Converge […]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.