Band Profile

Dance Gavin Dance

Dance Gavin Dance
Hometown: SACRAMENTO, California Current Label: Rise Records Websites: MySpace Profile
Band Members: Will Swan
Kurt Travis
Matt Mingus
Zac Garren
Tim Feerick

Dance Gavin Dance Bio:

Dance Gavin Dance was originally formed out of the dissolution of two other bands, Farewell Unknown and Ghost Runner on Third. Jonny Craig of Ghost Runner on Third and Sean O'Sullivan joined in 2005 and early 2006 to complete the lineup. Dance Gavin Dance released their first self-produced EP on November 14, 2006, entitled Whatever I Say Is Royal Ocean through Rise Records. The name "Dance Gavin Dance" was derived by then lead singer Jonny Craig, who had planned to name his previous band (Ghost Runner on Third) by that title, said in an interview done by

They entered the studio again in January 2007 with Kris Crummet, who produced Drop Dead, Gorgeous and Fear Before the March of Flames, and released their first full length album, Downtown Battle Mountain on May 15, 2007 on Rise Records. In August 2007, guitarist Sean O'Sullivan quit the band due to personal conflicts between himself and Jonny Craig, as well as wanting to pursuit a different direction in music. He went on to play for the band Consider the Thief. Sean was replaced by Zac Garren who prior to joining the band, was their merch guy.

In November 2007, original lead singer Jonny Craig quit the band due to extreme tensions and personal conflicts with the other band members, as stated by the band in an interview done by Jonny Craig filled in as the lead vocalist for A Skylit Drive, though only temporarily, immediately after his departure with Dance Gavin Dance. Craig has since joined bands Emarosa, Isles & Glaciers, and began a solo project with Rise Records. The band then had auditions for a new vocalist. Several vocalists tried out and at one point, Nic Newsham of Gatsbys American Dream was flown in from Washington for an audition. Though the band decided that his vocal stylings didn't quite suit their sound, they did develop a friendship with one another. This resulted in Nic's guest appearance on the song 'Uneasy Hearts Weigh The Most' which features on their self titled 2008 album. Kurt Travis, formerly of Five Minute Ride, O! The Joy, and No Not Constant became the band's new lead vocalist.

In a video interview done by on March 11, 2008, drummer Matt Mingus states about the Self-Titled album (prior to recording) quote: "We have a lot more timing on this next album which will include quote on quote, special effects and more time spend on guitars, percussions and vocals." On April 20, 2008 Dance Gavin Dance entered the studio to record their self-titled album, which was released on August 19, 2008. The album was's "Smartpick of the Month" of August 2008, and the website offered a stream of the entire album from August 17 to August 20. Two original members, Jonathan Mess and Eric Lodge, have also recently left Dance Gavin Dance. They left the band abruptly after recording the self-titled album. There were no formal announcements from the band citing why Jonathan and Eric left the band. Will Swan (Guitar) took up screaming duties, and Jason Ellis (formerly of Five Minute Ride) replaced Eric on bass. The band filmed a music video for the song "Me and Zoloft Get Along Just Fine" with Director Robby Starbuck. It was released November 18, 2008. Bassist Jason Ellis recently left the band to finish schooling but is on their new record, "Happiness" and was replaced by Tim Feerick.

Dance Gavin Dance played SXSW on March 20th. Dance Gavin Dance also played the The Bamboozle on May 2nd and they are scheduled to play the first half of Warped Tour 2009 on the Smart Punk stage.

On February 14, 2009, the band went into the studio to record a new album. The band announced that their newest album will be titled "Happiness," and released June 9, 2009. At the Austin SXSW Show, they played a song off of their new album called "Tree Village". Most recently on April 10, they uploaded new artwork and a recording of the new song "Tree Village" onto their MySpace profile. The album was leaked onto the internet on May 9, 2009, a month before it's official release.


  1. CarolynBothwell9/2/2016 1:15 AM | Permalink


  2. Rebeccace9/21/2016 1:36 AM | Permalink

    Really nice one

  3. darleneforris11/19/2016 1:01 AM | Permalink

    Its great job

  4. jamiewalker7812/28/2016 7:02 AM | Permalink

    I love this one

  5. jamiewalker7812/28/2016 7:03 AM | Permalink

    Great work

  6. DarcyMarshall2/20/2017 1:41 AM | Permalink

    Its nice one

  7. Dance Gavin Dance release video for “Summertime Gladness”6/17/2017 3:43 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Dance Gavin Dance […]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.