Band Profile

Social Distortion

Social Distortion
Hometown: Orange County, California Current Label: Epitaph Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Facebook Profile
Twitter Profile
Band Members: Mike Ness (Vocals, Lead Guitar)
Brent Harding (Bass)
Jonny "2 Bags" Wickersham (Backing Vocals, Rhythm Guitar)
David Hidalgo, Jr. (Drums)

Social Distortion Bio:

Social Distortion (sometimes referred to simply as Social D or SxDx) is an American punk rock band formed in 1978 in Fullerton, California. The band currently consists of Mike Ness (vocals, guitars), Jonny Wickersham (guitars), Brent Harding (bass) and David Hidalgo, Jr. (drums).

Social Distortion temporarily disbanded in 1985, due to frontman Ness' drug addiction and troubles with the law, which resulted in extended stints in various rehabilitation centers, that lasted for two years. However, the band reformed around 1986 and have continued being active today, even after the death of longtime guitarist Dennis Danell, who succumbed to a brain aneurysm in 2000. Since its inception the band lineup has been a virtual revolving-door of talent, with many members coming and going – Ness has been the only constant member.

To date, Social Distortion has released seven full-length studio albums, two compilations, one live album and two DVDs. The band released its debut album Mommy's Little Monster in 1983, which was very popular in the United States. Social Distortion did not release a second album, Prison Bound, until 1988. That album attracted the attention of Epic Records, who signed the band in 1989 and issued their highly successful self-titled third album a year later, which peaked at number 128 on the U.S. Billboard 200, and featured their well-known hit singles "Ball and Chain", "Story of My Life" and the cover of Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire." The next three albums, Somewhere Between Heaven and Hell, White Light, White Heat, White Trash, Sex, Love and Rock 'n' Roll and the Greatest Hits compilation (which spawned the previously unreleased hit "Far Behind") were also well-received. Their most recent studio album is 2011's Hard Times and Nursery Rhymes, which entered the Billboard 200 at #4, marking their highest entry on that chart. According to Ness, there is talk of an eighth studio album, which will likely be released in 2013.


  1. bradbates117/22/2016 7:14 AM | Permalink

    Mind Blowing

  2. mandieanaya7/27/2016 6:34 AM | Permalink


  3. billconner8/25/2016 12:43 AM | Permalink


  4. lorencecyou9/6/2016 2:22 AM | Permalink

    Brilliant job

  5. lisacampbell
    LisaCampbell9/14/2016 3:00 AM | Permalink

    Good song…

  6. Social Distortion to release new vinyl box set “The Independent Years: 1983 – 2004″10/3/2016 12:46 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Social Distortion […]

  7. paulroy735
    paulroy73510/13/2016 2:52 AM | Permalink

    Mind Blowing

  8. ralphsmith5510/29/2016 2:30 AM | Permalink

    Well Done

  9. dennisbeck6611/15/2016 1:40 AM | Permalink

    Thanks for share

  10. ZaraPickering12/3/2016 1:50 AM | Permalink


  11. glennwatts7512/7/2016 11:42 PM | Permalink

    Thanks for sharing

  12. calvinlamb7812/9/2016 4:24 AM | Permalink

    Great effort

  13. nealwells3512/12/2016 4:54 AM | Permalink

    Awesome keep it up .. great work

  14. raulholt3712/14/2016 5:28 AM | Permalink

    Really nice

  15. jakeross6512/30/2016 3:09 AM | Permalink


  16. nickgraves941/12/2017 4:12 AM | Permalink

    Thanks for share

  17. simonbell90
    simonbell901/17/2017 3:45 AM | Permalink

    One of the best song

  18. Social Distortion announce spring tour dates1/30/2017 10:52 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Social Distortion […]

  19. Social Distortion announce spring tour dates - PUNX.UK1/31/2017 12:16 AM | Permalink

    […] California punk legends Social Distortion have announced dates for a spring U.S. tour, which will kick off on the last day of […]

  20. leewaters522/1/2017 5:30 AM | Permalink

    Really nice.

  21. Mike Ness says Social Distortion have completed about 20 songs for new album - PUNX.UK3/15/2017 12:56 PM | Permalink

    […] Social Distortion frontman Mike Ness recently gave Las Vegas Review-Journal an update on the band’s long-awaited new album, saying that there are about 20 songs in various stages of completion, which range from garage punk to the gospel-inspired. He explained: […]

  22. Mike Ness offers (yet another) update on new Social Distortion album3/26/2017 10:28 AM | Permalink

    […] More On Social Distortion […]

  23. Social Distortion to hit the studio this fall?4/3/2017 10:57 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Social Distortion […]

  24. Social Distortion announce summer/fall tour dates5/9/2017 9:15 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Social Distortion […]

  25. Social Distortion announce summer/fall tour dates - PUNX.UK5/9/2017 9:41 PM | Permalink

    […] California punk legends Social Distortion have announced a full-scale U.S. tour which will take place from July to early September, and will […]

  26. philiprice857/7/2017 4:06 AM | Permalink

    Nice band.

  27. Social Distortion’s Mike Ness talks new album, studio plans7/27/2017 10:25 PM | Permalink

    […] More On Social Distortion […]

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.