Band Profile

Year of The Dragon

Year of The Dragon
Hometown: Los Angeles, CA Current Label: Unsigned or Unknown Websites: Official Website
Facebook Profile
Band Members: Dirty Walt - vocals
Rodcore - vocals
T-Bone -bass
Marc Rey - guitar
Kerim Imes; drums

Year of The Dragon Bio:

In the Chinese zodiac, the dragon is a symbol of strength and harmony. Not surprisingly the two leaders of Year of the Dragon, Roderick "Rodcore" Palmer, and Walter Adam Kibby, II AKA Dirty Walt, were born within days of each other under that sign.

Rodcore, has had various starts and stops with different incarnations of YOTD in the past between stints with other Los Angeles based bands, but it was not until Dirty Walt left the band that he co-founded and co-led for over twenty-five years, Ska-Punk-Funk legends Fishbone, along with fellow Fishbone solider guitarist Spacey T, that the seeds of the current YOTD were planted.

In 2006, the three recorded and self-released an EP, A Time To Love Is A Time To Bleed which received critical acclaim and sold well through the internet and at shows. Wanting to take things to the next level, Dirty Walt and Rodcore, put together a regular band and started gigging weekly around Los Angeles and the surrounding areas, capitalizing on Fishbone's loyal fan base and attracting new fans of their own with YOTD's own brand of hardcore with a funk groove and soulful tag team vocals.

Around this time, the band began a partnership with a start-up indie label, The International Brotherhood of Consequential Truth that would result in the brand new YOTD release, Blunt Force Karma.

Recorded in LA, Blunt Force Karma is the product of that freedom and their years in the game. Thirteen songs recorded with drummer, Kerim Imes, bassist Elliott Lawrence, and guitarists Jason "JMR" Richardson and Spacey T, Blunt Force Karma is a pure, uncut assault on the mind and spirit.

To follow that up, the band is left the IBCT and chose to do a shorter e.p. that will soon be released called FIVE FINGERS OF DEF. It was recorded and will be released by Greg Hetson, guitarist of punk legends Circle Jerks and Bad Religion! The band will be touring shortly after, and now consists of Marc Rey (guitar), T-Bone (bass) and Jason Gaddis on the drum throne.

A Time To Love Is A Time To Bleed & Blunt Force Karma available now and available at and CDBaby. FIVE FINGERS OF DEF has been released by Stylus Recs ( and you can also find the band's latest release, NOT A RIOT...THE MIXTAPE on iTunes and Amazon!

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.