Membranes announce first new album in 26 years

Post-punk pioneers Membranes have announced that they will release a new album, Dark Matter/Dark Energy on July 10th through Metropolis Records. This will be the bands first studio album since 1989. Check out the tracklisting below.

The album is said to be a concept album. “The album is inspired by a conversation with Joe Incandela, the head of the CERN project about the Higgs Boson particle (Joe is on one of the tracks). It’s all about the life and death of the universe; during recording, John Robb’s father died and the album is also about him.”

Dark Matter/Dark Energy will be released on July 10th in the U.S. through Metropolis Records, and earlier on June 22nd internationally (and iTunes where you can currently preview the tracks) through Cherry Red Records. It will be the band’s first album since 1989’s The Virgin Mary Versus Peter Sellers.

1. The Universe Explodes Into a Billion Photons of Pure White Light
2. Do the Supernova
3. 21st Century Man
4. Money is Dust
5. The Multiverse Suite
6. Space Junk
7. Dark Matter
8. If You Enter the Arena, You Got to Deal with the Lions
9. In the Graveyard
10. Hail to the Lovers
11. Magic Eye (To See the Sky)
12. 5776 (The Breathing Song)
13. Dark Energy
14. The Hum of the Universe

share on: Comment

Leave a Comment: