Tau Cross (featuring members of Amebix, Voivod, Misery and War//Plague) to release new album this summer

International punk/metal supergroup Tau Cross have announced that they will release their second studio album, tentatively titled A Pillar of Fire, this summer via Relapse Records. Like with their self-titled debut album, it was recorded across many different locations, and the drums were tracked Montreal, guitars in Minneapolis, bass in Seattle and Minneapolis, and vocals on the Isle of Skye in Scotland.

Bassist/vocalist Rob Miller on the album: “This approach can be challenging given the location of the band members, but it is a necessity that we have tried to turn into a strength. Video conferencing and messenger services have been helpful in guiding the process to completion.

The album was mixed at Smiddy studios on the isle of Skye by James Adams, who has also taken on duties as our keyboard player. We have had contributions from Themis for some of the ambient sounds on the album, a hurdy-gurdy from Tanner Anderson and even bagpipes from 16-year-old Scottish virtuoso Brighde Chaimbeul, so there are some interesting textures, with an emphasis on the lyrical content. As usual, we have constructed a few intriguing landscapes for the listener to engage with.”

Tau Cross features Rob Miller of Amebix, Michel “Away” Langevin of Voivod, Jon Misery of Misery and Andy Lefton of War//Plague.  They released their self-titled debut album in May 2015.

share on: Comment

Leave a Comment:

Web Design - WordPress Development - WooCommerce Websites