Face To Face

Members: Trever Keith (vocals, guitar); Scott Shiflett (bass); Danny Thompson (drums); Dennis Hill (guitar) Established Date: 1991 Record Label: Fat Wreck Chords Bandcamp Link: Listen on Bandcamp

Face To Face are a four-piece band from Southern California. They originally formed in the Victorville area 1991 around a lineup of Trever Keith (guitar/vocals), Matt Riddle (bass) and Rob Kurth (drums), and released their debut full length, Don’t Turn Away, in 1992. Chad Yaro joined the band on guitar in 1994, and appeared on the band’s sophomore album, Big Choice. Riddle would be replaced by Scott Shiflett in 1995, prior to the recording of the band’s self-titled third full-length. Rob Kurth left the band in 1998, so drum duties for the latter part of the self-titled record’s touring cycle were handled by Jose Medeles. Pete Parada joined as Kurth’s official replacement in 1999, and first appears on the band’s Ignorance Is Bliss album. Yaro left the band upon completion of the following album, Reactionary, and the band played and recorded as a three-piece (Keith, Shiflett and Parada) for four years, putting out the album How To Ruin Everything in 2002. In 2004, Face To Face went on a hiatus that would continue until 2008. As Parada had joined The Offspring by that point, drum duties were now handled by Danny Thompson. Yaro would rejoin for some of the initial reunion dates, and appeared on the band’s Laugh Now, Laugh Later (2011) and Three Chords And A Half Truth (2013) releases before being replaced by Dennis Hill. The lineup of Keith, Shiflett, Thompson and Hill has thus far released 2016’s Protection and 2021’s No Way Out But Through, as well as Hold Fast, an album released in 2018 consisting of acoustic renditions of previously-released Face To Face tracks. (bio by J.Stone)