The Cure

Members: Robert Smith – lead vocals, guitars, six-string bass guitar, keyboards; Simon Gallup – bass guitar, keyboards; Roger O'Donnell – keyboards; Perry Bamonte – guitars, six-string bass guitar, keyboards; Jason Cooper – drums; Reeves Gabrels – guitars, six-string bass guitar Established Date: 1978

The Cure are an English rock band formed in 1978 in Crawley, West Sussex. Their debut album, Three Imaginary Boys (1979), along with several early singles, placed the band in the post-punk and new wave movements that had sprung up in the United Kingdom. Beginning with their second album, Seventeen Seconds (1980), the band adopted a new, increasingly dark and tormented style, which, together with Smith’s stage look, had a strong influence on the emerging genre of gothic rock as well as the subculture that eventually formed around the genre.