Band Profile

The Mars Volta

The Mars Volta
Hometown: El Paso, Texas Current Label: Warner Bros. Records Websites: Official Website
MySpace Profile
Facebook Profile
Twitter Profile
Band Members: Omar Rodríguez-López – guitar, director, production, live backing vocals
Cedric Bixler-Zavala – lyrics, vocals
Juan Alderete – bass guitar
Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez – percussion, synthesizers, keyboards
Deantoni Parks – drums
Lars Stalfors – sound manipulation, keyboards

The Mars Volta Bio:

The Mars Volta (also known by the initialism TMV) is a Grammy award winning American progressive rock band from El Paso, Texas. Founded in 2001 by guitarist Omar Rodríguez-López and vocalist Cedric Bixler-Zavala, the band incorporates various influences including progressive rock, krautrock, jazz fusion, Latin American music, and the rhythmic complexity of math rock into their sound. They are known for their energetic live shows, as well as their concept-based studio albums. In 2009, the band won a Grammy Award in the "Best Hard Rock Performance" category for the song "Wax Simulacra." They were named rock music's "Best Prog-Rock Band" of 2008 by Rolling Stone magazine.

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.