Defiance, Ohio announce new album “Midwestern Minutes”, streaming new song

Defiance, Ohio announce new album “Midwestern Minutes”, streaming new song

Folk-punk staples Defiance, Ohio have announced information on their long-awaited upcoming album Midwestern Minutes. The 11-Song album will be released on LP/CD by No Idea Records on July 6th. You can check out one of the new tracks, Hairpool, on the band’s No Idea profile page. For a complete tracklisting, click here.

Bassist/Singer Ryan Woods had the following to say about the direction of the album:

“I’m not sure what it will turn out like, but I do feel it is a bit of a change. I think we were a lot more careful in arranging the songs, for example, a lot more thought-out harmonies, some songs have lots of strings, some none at all. There is a lot more use of the piano, a Wurlitzer, and a return of the upright bass on some songs. A couple of the songs are quite theatrical in content and orchestrated musically. In contrast, I think a couple songs are also more “punk” sounding than the last record.  We are very excited! I feel like we really worked as a group to make the songs and I think it will be a really good representation of where we are as a band now, for better or for worse.”

This will be the band’s first release since 2007’s The Fear, The Fear, The Fear.

Midwestern Minutes Track Listing:
1. Floodwaters
2. The White Shore
3. A Lot to Do
4. Cigarettes
5. Hairpool
6. Dissimilarity Index
7. The Reason
8. Her Majesty’s Midwestern Islands
9. Diamonds Theme Song
10. You Are Loved
11. Everyone Else on the Other Side

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.