Bridge Nine signs Nervous Impulse, releasing debut self-titled album

Bridge Nine signs Nervous Impulse, releasing debut self-titled album

Bridge Nine Records has announced the signing of Washington DC old school style punk act Nervous Impulse and is planning on releasing the band’s 8 song, self-titled debut on May 28th.

Here’s a more in depth description of the band from B9’s press release:

The guys in Nervous Impulse grew up on unhealthy doses of the Bad Brains, Dead Kennedys, Minor Threat, and the Big Boys, so it’s no surprise their music is raw, fast, and would bite you if it could. The lyrics are angry, caustic, and laced with cynical commentary of everyday life. They’ve all spent their share of time in the DC-area hardcore/punk scene, from the late 80’s forward, playing and touring in bands such as The Goons, Striking Distance, VPR, Set to Explode ,The Reticents, HR Band, and others. They formed in late 2009 as a five-piece band with Serge Goon on vocals, Dave Stone and Nik Deems on guitars, Jon Shaffer on bass, and Jon Bergner on drums. They played their first show in late summer 2010 under the name Brand X. After a few shows they changed it Nervous Impulse, which was a more appropriate name.

Nervous Impulse went to Minimum Wage Studios in Richmond, VA in Sept. 2010 to record a five-song demo which they handed out at shows and they began to build a small local following. Shaffer soon left the band due to other commitments, and Dave Stone took over the bass. The tighter arrangements of the four-piece lineup suited their sound well, and they took off writing and playing shows in earnest, playing just about anywhere and anytime, to anyone they could, tightening up their act. They soon began to make a name for themselves, playing tons of local shows and also opening for bands such as Youth Brigade, OFF!, and the Dead Kennedys.

The band soon went to Sheffield Recording Studios, where they tracked 14 songs in a single Saturday session. Afterwards, Deems left to pursue his PhD at Stanford University, prompting Shaffer to rejoin and Stone to switch back to guitar. The band then went on a short hiatus, during which Stone released 8 of the 14 tracks recorded at Mazurek’s studio as the debut Nervous Impulse Record under his own label, Undercurrent Records. Soon after, Bergner left the band, opening the door for Dave Byrd from (Striking Distance, Set to Explode, and Barfight) to join on the drums. The dust has now settled from the lineup changes and N.I. is back in the lab, writing new material, while Bridge Nine Records gears up to release those eight songs as a self-titled Nervous Impulse album on May 28th, 2013.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.